2016 Filmmakers nominated for Award from The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

Brock Stillmunks, Finn Pilcher, Helena Gruensteidl

Brock Stillmunks, Finn Pilcher, Helena Gruensteidl

Congratulations to 2016 graduates Brock Stillmunks, Finn Pilcher, and Helena Gruensteidl as their short film from their senior year, “Starfish Academy,” is nominated for the National Student Production Awards at The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. Earlier this year, they won a crystal pillar at the Upper Midwest Chapter – Student Awards.

They are one of seven nominees from the Upper Midwest Chapter, each representing different film categories. Also, they are the only Iowa filmmaking production team nominated.

The National Student Production Awards include 23 programming and craft categories. Honorees will receive a certificate from NATAS and a crystal pillar national award with the Emmy® logo will be presented to the school. Live streaming of this event will begin at 11:30pm (CST) on October 4, 2016 and will be available at https://livestream.com/tndv-television/StudentProductionAwards

Starfish Academy: Central Campus – Des Moines Public Schools
· Tim Coleman, Advisor
· Finnegan Pilcher, Editor
· Helena Gruensteidl, Writer
· Brock Stillmunks, Producer

Our filmmakers received their regional award during the April 2016 Upper Midwest Student Awards in Minneapolis sponsored by the National Academy of Television Arts & Science.

Producer Brock Stillmunks stated at that time, “We are honored to have our work recognized outside of Iowa and we’re glad that Central Campus allowed us the opportunity to use these industry skills in a competitive atmosphere.”

Only one crystal pillar regional award is earned in selected categories for students from our five state area that includes Iowa, Minnesota, Wisconsin, North Dakota, and South Dakota. The awards ceremony paid tribute to student production work in high school and college programs. Central Campus is Iowa’s Premier Regional Academy for Advance Career Programs including the award winning Broadcast and Film program led by instructors Tim Coleman and Kirk Johnson.

Published on